Spike’s V. G. Ehs?

by

vgas-frameweb

So the Video Game Awards were last Sunday and like past years it was mostly filled with “meh”.  The show is still filled to the brim with shameless sponsorship of Mountain Dew.  I mean seriously “Fueled by Dew”?  That phrase causes nothing but mild amusement at the incompetence of the many people that had to go through and still managed to make it on national television.

They still play on the fact that video games are for guys only, which we all know to be untrue.  As usual their are scantaly clad women scattered randomly around the set.  Don’t get me wrong, I love bikini clad ladies but I refuse to believe that any of those poor silver drenched women survived past the closing credits.

Their musical acts and guest appearances are questionable at best.  While I greatly enjoyed the change of host from Mr. Jackson to Jables the rest of the “big names” were mostly irrelevant.  I understand Tony Hawk, the hilarious Neil Patrick Harris and even the Transformers hottie Megan Fox. But the 4 or 5 random attractive women.  Kim Kardashian?  Who the hell is that?  Honestly, I had to look it up.  The music acts were quite varied, which I guess is good cause everyone was bound to enjoy atleast one.

However, without a doubt, the fact that they don’t even care enough to show more than a handful of awards.  Most of the awards are shown in a quick 1 minute mash-up.  What kind of respect does that show the industry when you spend more time pandering to sponsors, “dudes” and your producers.  Not to mention those kindergarden art class projects you gave away as the awards.  If I got one I wouldn’t want that ugly thing on my mantle with any of my other awards.

The recipients of some of the awards weren’t necessarily the nominees I thought most deserved them but I won’t go into all that.

This year was definitely an improvement on previous years but there is still a ways to go before the V.G.A.s become a legitimate and respectable award show.  I’ll, of course, tune in next year to see if Spike has learned any lessons.  Lets hope they have.

Alright gang, I’m off to bed.

-Z-

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Spike’s V. G. Ehs?”

  1. Meat Says:

    I missed this. Kim Kardashian is only famous because she two fisted Ray-J’s **** into her mouth and let him record it. WTF is she doing a video game concert. She isn’t smart enough to play most games.

Leave a Reply

